Electricity > Overview


The mandate of the Electricity Regulation is Economic Regulation of the electricity industry and is derived from the Electricity Regulation Act. The division has four departments that serve as a platform to achieve its mandate.


Licensing and Compliance Department

  • Issues licences with terms and conditions for:
  • generation, transmission and distribution of electricity
  • Import/export of electricity
  • Traders in electricity
  • Registers those who provide the above services but do not need to be licensed
  • Monitors compliance with licence terms and conditions by licensees

Pricing and Tariffs

  • Economic regulation of the electricity supply industry
  • Setting of tariff guidelines and structure
  • tariff methodologies (eg.:Rate of Return, Multi Year Price Determination)
  • evaluates tariff applications from licensees
  • pricing frameworks

Electricity Infrastructure Planning

  • planning for the country’s future electricity demand/needs (National Integrated Resource Plan)
  • promoting alternative electricity generation technologies eg. Renewable Energy, Cogeneration
  • promoting demand side management and energy efficiency initiatives

Regulatory Reform

  • design of the regulatory framework for the restructured Electricity Distribution Industry, ie the introduction of Regional Electricity Distributors (REDs)
  • research and development of the Electricity Distribution Industry
  • international trading framework